Illinois is the 50th state to allow concealed carry of firearms, but the restrictions are many and the penalties for violating them can be severe. Let’s start with non-residents’ ability to carry concealed in Illinois.
First, nobody can carry concealed in Illinois without a permit. Your home-state ccw permit does NOT allow you any carry rights in Illinois. However, you are given the right to carry your loaded gun in your vehicle, but that is all. The only way a non-resident can carry a gun on or about their person in Illinois is if they go through the licensing process and get a non-resident carry license. The fee for this is $300 and you will have to go though 8 to 16 hours of training as well.
So how can you legally have your loaded gun in your car? The gun must be out of sight and secured in a “container.” The Illinois Supreme Court has ruled that this includes a glove box or center console, as opposed to just firearms cases. If you leave the vehicle, the gun must stay secured in the container and the vehicle must be locked.
For non-residents who get a license to carry in Illinois, as well as residents, there are over 20 “Prohibited Areas” where you are not allowed to carry, though the loaded gun may legally remain in your vehicle in the parking lots of these areas.
What are the Prohibited Areas? They include:
This is in addition to the ban on concealed firearms in federal buildings or anywhere else that federal law prohibits firearms.
In addition to the areas listed above, any private property / business owner may choose to post a sign prohibiting the carrying of concealed firearms on their premises.
The penalty for carrying in a prohibited area is a Class B misdemeanor (though federal charges could also apply for the nuclear facility and federal buildings). A Class B misdemeanor is punishable by up to 6 months in jail.
Without an Illinois License to Carry, Illinois residents may only transport their firearms in their vehicles if they meet one of the following criteria:
Once an Illinois resident has obtained the Illinois License to Carry, they may then transport the gun with them in their vehicle loaded, provided it is out of sight. If they leave the gun in the vehicle, it must be enclosed in a container and the vehicle must be locked.