Finding cheap online Georgia car insurance rates is a snap if you have enough information. Whether you are a new driver, an experienced driver that has never been in an accident, or a driver that has a few mistakes in their past and needs a Georgia high risk auto insurance policy: the key to finding a cheap GA auto insurance policy is to do your research. So read on to learn some of the basics of Georgia car insurance and then put your new found knowledge to good use saving you some money!
Like most states in the South, Georgia enjoys an amazing tourist season. With the amazing beaches, warm weather, and incredible scenery, what’s not to love? However with the influx of snowbirds comes increased traffic and an increase in the number of car accidents. That’s why Georgia has established certain car insurance requirements for all its residents.
All Georgia car owners are required to maintain what is called a 25/50/25. This means that you have to maintain Bodily Injury Liability coverage of at least $25,000 per injured person up to a total of $50,000 per accident, and a minimum of $25,000 for Property Damage Liability on your Georgia car insurance policy. This minimum coverage required by Georgia is one of the highest in the nation.
It’s highly recommended that you carry more than the minimum requirements of Bodily Injury Liability and Property Damage Liability. Also, when shopping for car insurance in Georgia, make sure the company you choose extends this coverage to anyone who drives your car, not just the drivers listed on the policy. By doing this, you may be saving yourself from potential liability and financial ruin.
If a driver not listed on your Georgia car insurance policy is driving your car, and is at-fault in an accident, you will be held financially liable, not your insurance company.
While not required by Georgia law, you should also have Personal Injury Protection coverage. Commonly abbreviated to PIP, Personal Injury Protection helps pay for reasonable and necessary medical expenses for you and your passengers. Additionally, you might want to consider adding on Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist coverage for any bodily injury caused by an uninsured or underinsured driver.
The Georgia Department of Revenue now requires car insurance companies to submit your policy information online to a statewide database. You should check online to make sure your insurance coverage is documented with the Department of Revenue. You will need to provide your vehicle identification number and your file number, which is located on your Georgia registration papers. Georgia car insurance companies have 30 days to file this information with the State.
You could face still penalties and your vehicle registration may be suspended if your insurance is cancelled or lapses. Georgia considers a policy to be lapsed if you go 10 or more days without car insurance coverage.
If your car insurance coverage lapses, you could be fined $25 for the lapse fee and a $60 reinstatement fee before you can renew your license plates. For second time offenders the penalties and fees increase, and for third time offenders the penalties and fees increase to a $25 lapse fee and $160 reinstatement fee, and you car’s registration will be suspended for six months. If you are convicted of driving your car during this six month suspension, even higher penalties will apply.
Georgia car insurance laws do allow for some exemptions, or occasions when your car doesn’t need to be covered by insurance. These exemptions are, the car was sold or the ownership transferred, you moved to another state or the ownership of the car was transferred out of state, your car lease was terminated, the car was wrecked, salvaged, or junked, the car was repossessed, stolen, or not driven because it was inoperable, or the vehicle was stored or used seasonably for farming purposes. If you qualify for one or more of these exemptions, you have to file an affidavit stating the reasons your insurance will lapse, and you will then become exempt from the lapse fees and penalties.
People in the armed forces are also exempt if they are deployed and the car is going to be in storage. If you are in the military, and being sent overseas, you will need to file an affidavit to claim your exemption. You can file this form before, during, or after your deployment at your local tag office.
Georgia follows a Tort system in determining fault in an accident. This means that someone must be found to be at fault in an accident. Under a tort system of fault, the person who caused the accident and their insurance company are responsible for all the damages to both vehicles.
When purchasing car insurance in the State of Georgia, it may save you a lot of money to shop around in order to get the best rate. If you’re not sure you have the best rate, or that your current car insurance meets or exceeds all the requirements, you might want to consider doing a little comparison shopping. There are many companies online who, with a few simple keystrokes, can give you not only an immediate quote, but competitors rates as well.