Driving without insurance in Minnesota is unlawful. Everyone needs to carry a proof of insurance when driving a vehicle in Minnesota.
There are no detailed statistics, but insurance experts feel that 1 in 6 drivers in Minnesota is without insurance. Some point the finger to the state of US economy because increase in unemployment means raise in the number of people with no car insurance. Despite the fact that the state doesn’t perform checks on all drivers, the possibility of you getting caught is extremely high if you cause an accident.
If caught without insurance and you are not the owner of the car, a notice will be sent to the owner who will have to present a proof of insurance. The period to comply with such notice is 10 days after receiving it. An owner who fails to show a proof of insurance is guilty of a misdemeanor.
Depending on the circumstances, the penalties for driving without insurance may vary. If it is your first offense, it will be considered a misdemeanor crime. It will be regarded as a gross misdemeanor, if you have had similar violations in the last 10.
Before appearing in Court you may be allowed to show a proof of insurance. You may still be fined anything between $200 and $100 even if you present a proof of insurance. The Court can order you to serve up to 90 days of jail time. Your license may be suspended and your registration revoked.
Your penalties may be reduced if you obtain insurance before your court date, but do check with the Court if that may be the case.
Drivers who have insurance pay higher premiums because drivers without insurance do not contribute to the the pool of cash which covers accidents costs. Apart from being illegal, driving without insurance is also immoral. If you can’t afford car insurance you should not be driving.