If you drive on Texas roads, whether it is in a passenger car, motorcycle, pickup truck, van, bus, moped, or other motorized vehicle, that vehicle must display a Texas inspection sticker. Many people attempt to have their vehicles inspected, but fail due to some mechanical problem or other. If your inspection sticker is expired, you face a fine. What do the inspectors look for? What happens if your vehicle fails? Your best bet is to be prepared as to what your vehicle needs to pass the inspection. Do you know the Texas inspection sticker law? Below are six FAQs.
What parts of my vehicle will the inspection address?
The inspection will ensure that all of the important safety aspects of the vehicle are working as they should, not only to keep you safe, but to keep other Texas drivers safe as well. The inspection center will check a variety of things, including, but not limited to, the vehicle’s headlights, turn signals, windshield wipers, tires, brakes, steering, reflectors, mirrors, horn, and beam indicators.
Some vehicles require emissions testing, including gasoline powered vehicles, vehicles from two to 24 years old, and vehicles registered in designated counties that required emissions inspections.
Are any vehicles exempt from requiring a current inspection sticker?
Some vehicles are exempt from inspection. These include school buses, farm machinery, road building equipment, any vehicle required to show a slow moving vehicle emblem, and those trailers, semitrailers, pole trailers, and mobile homes whose gross weight is 4,500 pounds or less. Other vehicles included in this exemption are those displaying certain kinds of license plates, such as antique vehicles, those holding a parade or disaster license, and more. Other less common exemptions can be found at the Texas Department of Public Safety website.
When should I get my vehicle inspected?
If you are currently driving a vehicle registered in Texas, you should get your vehicle inspected in the month showing on your current inspection sticker. While an inspection certificate expires on the last day of the month indicated on your windshield sticker, there is a five-day grace period after the last day of the month for motorists to obtain their new sticker.
What are the most common reasons for a vehicle failing the inspection test?
The most common problems that prevent a vehicle from passing inspection are those concerning windshield wiper blades, brakes, parking brakes, tires, and bulbs, including turn signals, headlights, and stop lights.
What happens if my vehicle fails inspection?
If your vehicle fails inspection, you have 15 days to have the item repaired. If you take your vehicle back to the same inspection station that failed it, the re-testing will be free. If you take it to another inspection station or if you do not have the vehicle repaired and re-tested within15 days, you will be charged for a second inspection.
Where do I get my vehicle inspected?
There are many places to get your vehicle inspected, with inspection stations in most cities and towns. However, some stations offer more services than others. Some offer substantial discounts on needed repairs, such as new windshield wiper blades, headlights, and other bulbs. Believe it or not, some inspection stations even offer year-long, free replacement of windshield wiper fluid, brake fluid, power steering fluid, and gas caps for one year as long as you go to one of their official inspection stations.